We are the only professional theatre company in the country producing full seasons of new work by local playwrights.

Founded in 2008, The Lab is an incubator for new plays, an opportunity for each of the eight member playwrights (Matthew Ivan Bennett, Elaine JarvikJulie JensenJenny Kokai, Melissa Leilani Larson, Morag Shepherd, Janine Sobeck Knighton, and Debora Threedy) to share whatever script they wish, at whatever stage they wish, in a private table reading for the group, which includes dramaturgs Charisse Baxter and Greg Hatch.

The goals are to (1) continually contribute to the field nationally by strengthening a local community of playwrights and (2) populate future seasons as often as possible with their work.

This innovative artist community that makes it possible for us to build relationships with playwrights rather than plays.

Published anthologies

Production history

History of plays read in The Lab

History of plays read in the Script-In-Hand Series, many by current members or alums of The Lab

Alums (2008-2012): John Belliston, Beth Bruner, Carleton Bluford, Megan Crivello, Debora DeVos, Isabella Iasella, Jim Martin, Kyle Nelson and Lucy Ridolphi.

Alums (2012-present): Playwrights Austin Archer, Carleton Bluford, Rachel Bublitz, Jenifer Nii, Eric Samuelsen (1956-2019), Rob Tennant, and Camille Washington. Dramaturgs Martine Kei Green-Rogers and Sydney Cheek-O’Donnell.