Since 1991, we have developed and produced unique and socially conscious theatre created by Utah playwrights.

We are the first professional arts organization in Utah history led by a BIPOC artist.

We share stories with a local point-of-view as well as global stories from a local perspective.

We nourish a pool of local playwrights to rival that found in any other city in the country: we develop relationships with playwrights rather than plays.

We are the only professional theatre company nationwide producing full seasons of new work by local playwrights.

We are the only professional theatre company in Utah creating both a new LGBTQIA+ play and a new play for K-6 students each season.

.Each company decision reflects our commitment to representation.

We serve our community by reflecting it onstage.

We are committed to gender parity.

We are committed to LGBTQIA+ equality.

We are anti-racist and anti-racism.

We are anti-ableist and anti-ableism.

We welcome the opportunity to learn from our own mistakes.

We welcome the opportunity to speak less and listen more as our colleagues join the representation conversation.

We are a resident company of Salt Lake County Arts & Culture venues, an Associate Member of the National New Play Network and operates under a Letter of Agreement with Actors' Equity Association and on the Tier Contract with the Stage Directors & Choreographers Society.


Jerry Rapier, Artistic Director
Cheryl Ann Cluff, Managing Director
Sharah Meservy, Education Coordinator
Sam Allen, Interim Education Coordinator (April-July 2021)
Jennifer Freed, Resident Stage Manager (contractor)

Board of Trustees

Benjamin Brown, President
Rebecca Chavez-Houck, Trustee (Past President)
Chris Curlett, Trustee
Lily Hye Soo Dixon, Trustee
Jesse Nix, Trustee (also Past President)
Rick Pollock, Trustee
Melissa Salguero, Trustee
Kay Shean, Secretary

Paul Tew, Trustee (President Elect)

The Lab Playwrights

Matthew Ivan Bennett  |  Rachel Bublitz  |  Elaine Jarvik  |  Julie Jensen  |  Jenny Kokai  |  Melissa Leilani Larson  |  Jenifer Nii  |  Morag Shepherd  |  Debora Threedy  |  Camille Washington

Theatre Artists of Color Writing Workshop Playwrights

Tatiana Christian  |  Christopher Curlett  |  Olivia Custodio  |  Dee-Dee Darby-Duffin  |  Bijan Hosseini  |  Tito Livas  |  Brandan Ngo  |  Iris Salazar  |  Darryl Stamp